Torn between two pages

I’ve posted messages all over the place hoping to get as much input as I can.

You see, a couple of weeks ago I said that the layout is starting to annoy. So, I’ve decided to see what layout you guys really like.

So if you’d like to help, please visit the two test pages I have set up:

The first one is here. And the other one is here.

Let me know what you think and which one you prefer. Use the comment form here, there, email me, facebook message me, whichever way you prefer.

Again, thank you very much.

  1. Found my way here from a comment of yours on DPS and decided to look around.

    It’s a harsh way to start, but I have to say, I don’t like the four column layout. I couldn’t work out where I should be looking for the main content. I do like the split picture in the header tho.

    Being new to this whole blog game myself (and a lil nosy too… ) I thought I’d have a look at your test pages. Without a shadow of a doubt I like the first (three col.) one, but then, I might be biased :-D

    Disclaimer: I know diddly-squat about design and t’interweb!

  2. M

    Hey Iain, thanks for your input. To be honest, I completely agree with you. The 4 column is really hard to navigate and cluttered, and that’s only the tip of the iceberg. Hence the reason you don’t see them often, eh? The new layout is going to be very clean and pretty minimalist, so come in after the weekend and all will be well!

  3. Well, I’ve subscribed to your feed so the pressure’s on! ;-)

  4. M

    And I’ve reciprocated. Strange things happening in these times of technology, which is reputed to make our lives more efficient. But I’m tearing my hair out wondering why my feedburner stats say zero readers despite the fact that I have more then zero subscribers in spite my wordpress dashboard saying I’ve had 500+ hits since inception (Aug-ish)!

  5. Grace

    I like the Digg 3 theme best as well. The four column seems a little disjointed and confused about where to look first. It’s pretty, but I don’t know if it displays things in the best fashion. The 2183 theme is less busy, which is great if that’s all you’re looking for, but it seems to lose some personality as well.
    … Yep, that’s my two cents! :P

  6. M

    Thanks for your inoput, Grace. I like the both of them, that’s why I cant decide and I needed to see which one has more fans. As for the 4column layout, it was great at first but as you piled more stuff onto it it started breaking apart. and then there’s the bugs and the fonts. Ai yaiyai! So far it’s a tie. I have equal number of votes for both tDigg and 2183 t themes.

  7. Cheers :-D

    The numbers in my Feedburner subscribers page are forever changing. It’s all very confusing to a novice like me!




Leave a Reply

